top of page
  • Writer's pictureTheatre Travels

Interview: Hayden Tee (Up Close and Intimate)

On December 8, International Musical Theatre star Hayden Tee will return to Australia for a one-night-only concert at Darlinghurst Theatre Company, following the release of his new album Face to Face. Exploring many of the characters Hayden has inhabited on stage in Australia, New Zealand, Asia, the UK and the USA, this will be a rare opportunity to get up close and personal with one of today’s most acclaimed performers and recording artists in theatre, concert and cabaret.



Photo credit: Jake Wiesz


Your new album, Face to Face, launches and you’re coming to the Darlinghurst theatre for a one night only concert to celebrate. What inspired this album, how long have you been working on it and what can audiences expect from the concert?


Four years ago, my long-time collaborator and musical director Nigel Ubrihien and I first decided that we wanted to make an album like this. We’ve been working on it solidly for 3 years. After looking at songs from roles I’d played and had an affinity with, we ended up with a long list. We had two criteria: we wanted to tick off the big-name composers and develop a list of antagonists and rebels. If the song didn’t fit that mould, it got cut. The concert will feature a few songs from Face to Face, as well as some songs from previous albums we’ve worked on. One of the really big things for us is the inclusion of songs from our next album, which we’re already working on.  The show will see us combine all my loves, so there will definitely be make-up, performance, singing and acting.


Australian theatre lovers will know you well from starring roles in Les Misérables, South Pacific, Songs for a New World and Only Heaven Knows, but you have recently just wrapped a stint as Miss Trunchbull in the West End production of Matilda and have also performed in the US and across Asia…wow! What has been the highlight of your career so far, what is on your bucket list still as a performer and where is one place in the world you haven’t yet performed that you would love to take to the stage in?


Javert in Les Misérables is definitely the highlight for me, mostly because that tortured and twisted character has been very good to me. I hadn’t realized how much I missed him until was playing Miss Trunchbull in Matilda. That’s the hardest role I’ve ever played, both physically and mentally. I’d never questioned my mental health until I played her. Although Javert is twisted, he does bad things for good reasons. Trunchbull, on the other hand, does bad things because she enjoys doing them, which is not so fulfilling to perform as an actor. Compared to her, Javert is actually a decent person!


When it comes to the bucket list, I must admit that I’m asked this a lot and it never happens. I used to say Phantom, and now I’m mourning that it will probably never happen. To be honest, I think that the role hasn’t been written yet. However, one day I’d really like to play Carnegie Hall – preferably with Nigel.


This show will mark your return to Australian stages since Only Heaven Knows in 2017. What is exciting about coming back to perform each time here and what are you looking forward to bringing Aussie audiences in your show this time?


Australia is home to me. I moved here when I was 18 and I studied here. My great relationships are here and it’s my creative home. I find that audiences here are warm and welcoming, but they also like when you make them feel uncomfortable by playing a twisted role. British audiences don’t like that as much. What’s more, I’m working with Nigel again. We’ve worked together for such a long time. We anticipate each other’s thoughts and finish each other’s sentences. That’s largely due to many nights around the piano arranging songs over a lot of vodka. I have to say that I’m really looking forward to exploring the songs from the album in front of a live audience. The intimate setting means I’ll be able to talk to the audience and they’ll be able to talk back. Yes, it invites heckling, but the joy of cabaret lies in the audience participation.


With all the shows that you have done, there has been such a great variety of roles – what is your process for getting into each of these characters and how do you initially approach a new project? What do you look for in a new character that you are taking on?


I like complex characters and I’m attracted to villains. I love finding the reasons for why they do bad things. I find it satisfying when you can make audiences sympathize with them, because offstage I’m a Goody Two-Shoes.


Each process is different, but I always like to find at least one character trait that the role and I share. For example, Javert and I share self-righteousness. I have to watch that when I play the role, to make sure it doesn’t carry over outside the theatre. Character hangover is a real thing. I suffer from it and I’ve been to therapy. One way I manage that is through scent. Each character has a fragrance that I can wash off and when I leave the theatre I put on my ‘Hayden scent’.


For example, Javert is Chanel Egoïste, while Trunchbull is Tuscan Leather by Tom Ford – she was a really expensive character. Hayden’s fragrance is Tom Ford’s Black Orchid and people are welcome to send presents to the stage door at Darlinghurst Theatre Company. [laughs]



RAPID FIRE QUESTIONS:


Favourite production you have ever seen?


Spring Awakening in South Korea … in Korean. The direction and intentions were so strong that I understood exactly what was going on, even though I couldn’t understand a word. I learnt a lot from that.​


You’re getting on a plane tomorrow and you can go anywhere in the world, where do you go?


Africa. It’s the only continent I haven’t visited.


​Dream show to perform in?


Hasn’t been written yet.​


Plays or musicals?


Musicals – duh! Plays are great, but the theory underpinning the musical is that the emotion is elevated to a point where speech doesn’t suffice anymore. You are living in a heightened reality. Heaven!


​A hobby you have beyond the theatre?


Make-up – it’s my therapy. I suffer from anxiety, so my way of processing the day is to put on make-up and post it on Instagram.


​What’s next for you after this show?


I will do a little tour of this show around Australia. After Darlinghurst Theatre Company, we’re off to Adelaide, Tyalgum, the Gold Coast and Brisbane.​



Up Close and Intimate is on at Darlinghurst Theatre Company's Eternity Playhouse on December 8, for one night only. You can get your tickets here.


5 views0 comments
bottom of page