top of page
  • Writer's pictureTheatre Travels

Interview: Jan van de Stool (Parting the Red Curtains)

Join Musical Therapist, Jan van de Stool and her extensive ego, as she reflects on her life in the ‘business of show’. From humble beginnings in Schiermonnikoog (an unpronounceable village in Holland), to being seen by over one million viewers, Jan keeps it real presenting self-help workshops at her local Scout Hall, where she’s helped, literally, tens of people.

Rosie speaks with Jan van de Stool about her endless list of talents, what led her to the Brisbane Comedy Festival and what this new work is all about. Read the full interview below:

Jan van de Stool

Musical masseuse, singing psychologist, qualified interpretive dancer… Jan van de Stool has been described in numerous ways. For those who aren’t familiar with your work, what can they expect from your upcoming show and how do all of these amazing skills combine into the one show? Well, thank you for asking. Yes, I am all those things.  But I’m so much more than even that.  In my new show, Parting the Red Curtains, I’m going to invite you, my ‘fan de Stools’, to come inside me and meet the real Jan not just the Jan you all know from all the reality TV shows I’ve done like Dancing with the Stars Top Gear and Embarrassing Bodies. I’m going to part the red curtains to show you who I really am inside and get back to the real me – Jan van de Stool - Musical Therapist - Psychic Medium - Excellent Singer - Beat Boxer - and Macramé Master - and at the show you’re gonna see...nearly...all of those things.  From performing on Australia’s Got Talent, to hosting the Helpmann Awards, the work of Jan van de Stool has spread far across Australia. Why was the Brisbane Comedy Festival the next step for you? It’s like the song goes “If I can make it there, I’ll make it anywhere, it’s up to you, Brisbane, Brisbane”.  Well usually you say New York, New York but the same applies.  I live in Woy Woy on the Central Coast in NSW - so if I can win over Brisbane - I’ve hit the top of the mountain and it's all downhill from there. What led you to create your newest work, PARTING THE RED CURTAINS? What do you hope to achieve with this work? Well after that video of me from I’m a Celebrity - Get Me Out of Here, went viral, the one of me being helicoptered off the island with my undies over my head - I felt I had to set the record straight. So, I’m going to explain what happened, I’m going address the rumours, no dressing up the facts, just real, raw, warts and all setting the record straight...through a medley of songs. And hopefully that will put an end to it and we can just have some fun.  How would you describe your style of comedy? I’m not sure what you are talking about?  I don’t think I do anything comical?? But I have noticed that the more issues people have the more they laugh. It’s a nervous thing.  And in my shows and musical therapy courses -  I seem to attract a lot of people with a lot of issues. If you could only describe PARTING THE RED CURTAINS in three words, what would words would you choose? Worth the money.   Or Very, very Good. RAPID FIRE QUESTIONS: Favourite production you have ever seen?  My old boyfriend back in Holland - who was amazing with whips. He closed the end of our show each night whipping to the Theme of Star Wars.  He was so good he got his own show. It was called Jack the Whipper. You’re getting on a plane tomorrow and you can go anywhere in the world, where do you go? Anywhere I can help people.  I’d like to help people all over the world.  Places like Bali, and Hawaii and maybe the Maldives. Dream show to create?  Never again - I’m too tired now after creating this one. Plays or musicals?  Netflix What’s next for you after this show?  I have a workshop next week back at the Scout Hall - “How to be as Happy as Larynx". Jan van de Stool's Parting the Red Curtains opens on March 21 2019 as part of the Brisbane Comedy Festival for a limited run. You can get your tickets here.

3 views0 comments
bottom of page