top of page
  • Writer's pictureTheatre Travels

Interview: Kate Worsley (Yellow Yellow Sometimes Blue)

November is going to be a month for great theatre all around Sydney and over in Penrith, the Joan's next production, Yellow Yellow Sometimes Blue, promises to be a great new presentation of a true Australian play. Focusing on the Emu Plains in the 1950s, this play says a lot about Australian culture, about the classicism of the 1950s and about the human condition. Mich asked actress, Kate Worsley about her career, this show and whether her growing up in Sydney's West herself has helped her understand her character Iris even better. Have a read below:

​This play is a social comment on Australia in the 1950’s and the prevailing attitudes of the time. Do you think that attitudes then were vastly different to today or would you imagine a cocktail party today among the elite to have the same underlying prejudices even if somewhat updated?

​

Some of the ideas in this play feel ‘dated’ and very much like attitudes from another time - for example, I don’t know anyone who eats mushrooms from a can!?

​

However, some of the attitudes around women and refugees are very similar to what we see and hear in Australia today. It's a bit disturbing how parts of the text rings true in a modern context! In some ways we have made a lot of progress and in others we have regressed - in our play the character Leo is a refugee who has come to Australia. If the play were set today, sadly he would probably be imprisoned on Manus.

​

You grew up in Sydney’s western suburbs and after some time away now live and work back in the area. Do you feel this has given you more of an insight into your character in this production of Yellow Yellow Sometimes Blue. Or has it made you challenge her further?

​

Growing up a westie has definitely given me more insight into my character, Iris! I remember longing to break out of my 'suburban' life when I was a teenager, and wanting to be an actor but having no idea how to go about it. My parents appreciated the arts but I didn't know anyone who actually worked in the theatre. Iris wonders similar things about how to be an artist in 1954!

​

You have both directed and acted in a variety of plays over the course of your career – how do you feel being an inter-disciplinary creative adds to your process or pushes you further in your investigation of a script or character? 

​

I think it makes you a problem-solver, or maybe a 'challenge-tackler' is a better way to put it. I think it has deepened my skills as a collaborator and given me a better perspective and appreciation for how all of the elements come together on a show.

​

What do you think are the main messages of this piece and what makes it relevant to today? What will the audience take away from this production? 

​

Themes of inclusion, exclusion, connection and hope are all relevant to our world today. The concept of ‘cultural cringe’ in this play is still present - always being drawn to what is happening in the next room, in another city or country rather than being present and appreciating the wonder & beauty of where you are right now.

​

It's a great insight into some characters who we don't often see on our stages. Iris and Leo are not the famous artists who came to Emu Plains for parties and events at that time, they are locals who worked as the 'help' in the kitchen. Yet their stories contain their own beauty, loss and mystery.

​

​Do you find that some of the characters that you take on stay with you beyond the show? If so, What is something about your character that will stay with you beyond the run of this production? 

​

I definitely think little bits and pieces of characters stay with you - a physical choice, a piece of text or music can transport you back to that person and play. I hope I can take some of Iris' optimism and hope with me beyond the run of this production!

​

RAPID FIRE QUESTIONS

​

Favourite production you have ever seen?

I haven't seen much since having a baby last year BUT Complicite's 'The Encounter' transported me in a way I hadn’t experienced in the theatre before.

​

You’re getting on a plane tomorrow and you can go anywhere in the world, where do you go?

Darwin!! I love it.

​

Dream role to perform?

Okay this might sound corny but working on a new play like Yellow Yellow Sometimes Blue, developing a character for the first time is a real dream!! And maybe Bottom in A Midsummer Night’s Dream.

​

Plays or musicals?

Once upon a time I would have said plays but a few years ago I went to a contemporary performance in New York where the performer took a $100 bill out of my wallet and shredded it onstage. It was bizarre & awful and took a lot of yelling from my friend before the theatre reimbursed me at the end. The next night I saw a production of 'Mary Poppins' on Broadway and it was so joyful & restored my faith in theatre! So maybe musicals for their ability to make you feel safe & happy!

​

A hobby you have beyond the theatre?

Spending time with my menagerie of rescue animals (2 dogs + 1 cat!) and chasing my daughter who has just learnt to walk!

​

What’s next for you after this show? 

A couple of creative developments! A new script by my friend and colleague David McLaughlin and an adaptation of 'A Comedy of Errors' by Hilary Bell for a season at National Theatre of Parramatta next year.

​

Tickets for Yellow Yellow Sometimes Blue are available here now.

5 views0 comments
bottom of page