top of page
  • Writer's pictureTheatre Travels

Interview: Zoe Muller (Rattling the Keys)


Winner of the 2018 State Theatre Company of South Australia and Flinders University Junior Young Playwrights’ Award, Rattling the Keys follows five teenagers living in the small rural town of Coober Pedy.


Struggling with isolation and lack of opportunities, and with little money or education, they turn to crystal methamphetamine. During a long oppressive heatwave, a teenage boy is murdered next door and Teddy and Kai, both under the influence of Ice, think they may be responsible. Knowing the police are undergoing an investigation, the five teenagers know they only have a few hours before the cops knock on their door.


Rattling the Keys explores themes such as drug/alcohol addiction, isolation and mental illness in 70 minutes. With a very small audience number per show, this is an immersive, ‘fly on the wall’ theatre experience.



Zoe Muller - Playwright and Actor


THE SHOW


To kick off, what show are you currently working on and what is your role in the production?


Deadset Theatre Company is performing “Rattling the Keys” and I am script writer and also playing the role of Arcadia!


What drew you to this show and why do you think now is the right time to be bringing this story to the stage?


I wrote this play when I was seventeen years old. I have always been fascinated by small towns. I am intrigued by the idea of living remotely, and this is what inspired me to research towns such as Coober Pedy, and create a play about young people in a small regional town. Crystal methamphetamine usage is on the rise, and is an issue facing some young people. In school, I studied the effects of crystal methamphetamine and was inspired to create a story about young people struggling with addiction. I then chose to study criminology as a major in university, to continue researching the drug. That is how Rattling the Keys came about; combining my fascination for small towns with the current issue of crystal methamphetamine usage. I also love stories for young people, and believe there needs to be more hard-hitting theatre for young people. I hope Rattling the Keys is just that.


What has the experience been like working on this show? What has been unique about this show and your process in comparison to other shows you have worked on?


Not directing this show has been weird! I am so used to directing plays with Deadset Theatre Company and taking a step back and collaborating with the other cast members has been such a unique experience; but I have absolutely loved it! This has also been great, as we have all edited the play together and thrown around ideas, creating a much more cohesive performance.


What can audiences look forward to in this show or why do you feel it is a story that they need to hear?


This play is intense, confronting and uncomfortable. We have set the production in the round (or really the rectangle), and the audience are right there with us actors. I think this will be quite a unique theatre experience for many audience members, as it is right in your face. I can’t wait to see the audience reactions in some of the more intense moments. This story is also so relevant and quite moving (I would hope), and I believe people will leave thinking and reflecting on the lives of the teenagers in the story.


What has been the most rewarding part of this show to create for you?


Creating more theatre for young people and seeing an audience full of young people is so rewarding.


Why is this a production that a 2020 audience cannot miss?


This is theatre like never seen before. It is rough, disturbing and honest, and it portrays a theme that is not often seen in theatre; the effects of crystal methamphetamine in young people.



THE PROCESS


When first beginning a new project, what is the first part of your process in approaching a new role?


I research. I research the world of the character, where they were living, when and try to imagine what life is like for them. The more I know about the character and the play, the more prepared I feel to take on a role.


What is a common misconception that people have about your role in the production?


I truly hope the audience see just how tough Arcadia has got it and realize that she is only trying her best to survive in a world full of heartache and loss. I think Arcadia is one of the strongest, most driven characters, and I hope people really resonate with her like I do.


What has the rehearsal process been like in bringing this story to life? By the time audiences see this show on stage, what has gone into making it happen?


This has been quite a tough play to stage. We have changed the lines drastically, even cutting and flipping the order of the final scene. I think working with a script that is still in the editing process has been both beneficial as we are able to be as creative as possible, but it has also been tricky as it’s an extra task to focus on.


Do you have any opening night rituals? If so, what are they?


I always like to have a good dance before opening night. I can assure you that Hilltop Hoods (featured in the play) will be playing on full blast before the show, and I will do my best to convince the cast to join me in my pre-show dancing ritual!!


What is something that you take away from each show that you work on? Do you feel like you take a piece of the production with you each time?


Friendship is the main thing I take away from each production. I am so lucky to have worked with such wonderful casts. Leaving the cast after the final show is such a sad moment, but I am so thankful to have made such wonderful friends in the theatre. Oh, and I always take away some sort of prop or costume from the play; as a reminder!



YOU


When was the turning point for you when you realised that theatre was not just a hobby but a passion? How did you go about making it your career and is there any one show that you can attribute this to?


The first theatre I ever attended in the Adelaide Hills, Hills Youth Theatre, was the starting point of my love of theatre. I had a wonderful teacher, and everyone was so encouraging. This really inspired me to keep on going and I feel so lucky to now work there as a teacher.


Across your work, is there one story, thought or theme that keeps you interested in continuing to create? What stories do you find yourself drawn to the most?


I love theatre for young people. Growing up, I really struggled to find roles for young people that wasn’t just the “son” or the “daughter”. I was always frustrated that there were so many musical about young people such as “Annie” or “High School Musical” and “Grease” but very little dramas. This is what inspired me to create my own work, and create theatre for young people that is intense, gripping and honest. I wanted to tell detailed and thought-provoking stories about young people, and wanted more young people to perform onstage.

What has been the highlight of your career so far and what is still on your performance bucket list?


The highlight has to be my first show with Deadset Theatre Company, and the first show I ever wrote Puberty Blues. When I was 15, authors Kathy Lette and Gabrielle Carey granted me permission to write the stage adaption for Puberty Blues. Our first season of the production sold out weeks before opening, and we brought it back for the Adelaide fringe. I will never forget the excitement of opening night and am so thankful for the friendships made in that show. I would love to play the role of Jo March in Little Women and Catherine in A View from the Bridge…. they’re on my theatre bucket list!


What is the best piece of advice you’ve ever been given that you would like to pass on to aspiring theatre makers?


I’ve come to realize that some people don’t take young people seriously, especially in theatre. This has really frustrated me. If you want to put on a show, but you’re only 15, just do it! If you want to write a play, but have never written before, just write it! Age doesn’t matter when it comes to doing something you love.



RAPID FIRE QUESTIONS


What is your favourite production you have ever seen?


A View from the Bridge by State Theatre Company of South Australia!!! I am obsessed.


You’re getting on a plane tomorrow and you can go anywhere in the world - where do you go?


Sydney because I have never been!


What is your dream show to work on?


Jesus Christ Superstar, but I can’t sing, or dance so that’s a bit of an issue! More realistically, definitely A View from the Bridge by Arthur Miller.


What is a hobby you have beyond the theatre?


I love teaching and am currently studying secondary education at university.


What’s next for you after this show?


I would love to write another play…..once I finally get another idea! I would also like to tour a Deadset show rurally, to bring theatre to young people living in small towns, who mightn’t have ever seen a theatre show before.


Rattling the Keys opens at The Mill on January 7th, 2020. You can get your tickets here.

75 views0 comments
bottom of page